Welpen auf Zypern

puppies in Cyprus

Neutering-Program

 

The helping of pointers in distress in our Association, whether locally or abroad, is very close to our heart. The placement of dogs from abroad into Germany is only a reaction and a short-term and direct help for the individual local dogs. 

However with that the situation will not improve abroad. For long-lasting help one must start much earlier and with parallel work on various “fronts”.

The population of dogs must be reduced and unwanted offspring must be prevented, so that future puppy explosions like on Cyprus are reduced in the medium to long term.

Animal welfare means above all the local work: Political and interpersonal persuasion, education and very important castration programs.

Hundemama mit ihren Welpen

female dog with her puppies

 

International studies have shown that the overpopulation of dogs and cats and therefore the related problem of strays especially in the southern countries can only be reduced effectively by consistent castrations. All the unwanted animals in shelters, pounds and on the streets… should be a monument to us and to remind us about the infinite quantity of unwanted births of dogs.

 

 

 

Constaninos Andreou

Constantinos Andreou

And right here we help specifically:
Together with our founding member, veterinarian Patrick Niederhofer from the animal health centre Dammstücken in Henstedt-Ulzburg near Hamburg, and our contract veterinarian in Cyprus, Constantinos Andreou from the VetCure clinic in Limassol, we carry out from now on periodical castrations in Cyprus. Our veterinarians work as volunteers and castrate / sterilize shelter dogs, stray dogs and dogs, which were taken from the streets and are in private foster homes waiting for their new home.

 

Patrick Niederhofer

Patrick Niederhofer

 

In the future, we would like also to offer these campaigns to the private people of Cyprus, also here to bring it to their attention and to markedly reduce the unwanted breeding of privately held animals.

In carrying out this campaign there are of course costs – please support us and help us effectively to improve the situation in Cyprus.

 

 

Please send donations either via PayPal or transfer under the keyword “Kastrations-Programm” (castration program). We warmly thank you in advance for your help!

P.S.: Of course in our castration program we do not differentiate between the different breeds of dogs. Pointers will not be specifically castrated / sterilized, but all dogs and bitches that we can reach and manage in time.

trächtige Hündin auf Zypern

pregnant dog in Cyprus

Welpen auf Zypern

Welpen auf Zypern

Kastrations-Programm

 

Die Hilfe für Pointer in Not – ob im In- oder Ausland – liegt unserem Verein sehr am Herzen. Die Vermittlung von Hunden aus dem Ausland nach Deutschland ist aber nur eine Reaktion und eine kurzfristige und direkte Hilfe für die einzelnen Hunde vor Ort.

Eine Situationsverbesserung vor Ort im Ausland wird man damit allerdings nicht erreichen können. Um nachhaltig helfen zu können, muss man deutlich früher mit der Hilfe ansetzen und auch parallel an verschiedenen „Fronten“ arbeiten.

Die Population der Hunde muss verkleinert und unerwünschter Nachwuchs muss verhindert werden, um zukünftig Welpen-Explosionen wie auf Zypern mittel- und langfristig zu verringern.

Tierschutz bedeutet vor allem auch die Arbeit vor Ort. Politische und zwischenmenschliche Überzeugungsarbeit, Aufklärungsarbeit und ganz wichtig Kastrationsprogramme.

Hundemama mit ihren Welpen

Hundemama mit ihren Welpen

 

Internationale Studien belegen, dass sich die Überpopulation von Hunden und Katzen und die damit verbundene Streuner-Problematik gerade in den südlichen Ländern nur durch konsequente Kastrationen wirkungsvoll reduzieren lassen. All die ungewollten Tiere in Sheltern, Pounds und auf den Straßen … sie sollten uns ein Mahnmal sein und uns an die unendlich vielen ungewollt geborenen Hunde erinnern.

 

 

 

Constaninos Andreou

Constantinos Andreou

Und genau hier helfen wir konkret:
Zusammen mit unserem Gründungsmitglied, Tierarzt Patrick Niederhofer vom Tiergesundheitszentrum Dammstücken in Henstedt-Ulzburg bei Hamburg, und unserem Vertragstierarzt auf Zypern, Constantinos Andreou von der VetCure Clinic in Limassol, werden wir ab jetzt in regelmäßigen Abständen Kastrationsaktionen auf Zypern durchführen. Unsere Tierärzte arbeiten dabei ehrenamtlich und kastrieren / sterilisieren Tierheimhunde, Streunerhunde und Hunde, die bereits von den Straßen geholt wurden und in privaten Pflegefamilien auf ihr neues Zuhause warten.

 

Patrick Niederhofer

Patrick Niederhofer

 

Zukünftig möchten wir diese Aktionen auch für zypriotische Privatleute anbieten, um auch hier eine Aufmerksamkeit zu erreichen und die ungewollte Vermehrung der privat gehaltenen Tiere ebenfalls deutlich zu reduzieren.

Bei der Durchführung dieser Aktion entstehen natürlich Kosten – bitte unterstützen Sie uns und helfen auch Sie nachhaltig, die Situation vor Ort auf Zypern zu verbessern.

 

Bitte senden Sie Spenden entweder per Paypal oder Überweisung unter dem Stichwort „Kastrations-Programm“. Wir bedanken uns schon jetzt ganz herzlich für Ihre Mithilfe!

P.S.: Selbstverständlich machen wir bei unserem Kastrationsprojekt keinerlei Unterschiede bezüglich der Rassen. Es werden nicht speziell Pointer kastriert / sterilisiert, sondern alle Hunde und Hündinnen, die wir erreichen und zeitlich schaffen können.

trächtige Hündin auf Zypern

trächtige Hündin auf Zypern